Kisumu County is predominantly an opposition leader Raila Odinga's backyard.

Is there information that you would like Kenyans to know? Tell Hivisasa and we will share with the world. Click here to submit.

Of all the 7 sub-counties in the county, Raila and his Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party boast of five seats.

These are Muhoroni, Nyando, Kisumu Central, Seme, and Nyakatch.

In Kisumu East constituency, Raila's ODM party did not manage to win but enjoys the loyalty of area Member of Parliament Shakeel Shabbir who is however in office on an independent ticket.

However, in Kisumu West, Raila has been unable to turn tables on area lawmaker and renowned lawyer John Olago Aluoch.

Olago, a third term parliamentarian has secured his two last terms on the Ford Kenya ticket, managing to keep ODM candidates at bay.

This is after he fell out with ODM in the run-up to 2013 general polls, opting to cross over to the Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula-led party.

Let it not be forgotten that Raila has always launched heavy campaigns in the region during each campaign period.

He has also been dispatching all his area footsoldiers in a bid to secure all the seats but has been unable.

Obviously, he will be making a bigger attempt to capture the seat in 2022, but whether he will topple Aluoch only time can reveal.