The Jubilee Party candidate McDonald Mariga on Thursday night called his rival Imran Okoth to congratulate him for emerging the winner.

Share news tips with us here at Hivisasa

In a video shared across Hivisasa social media platforms, Mariga in the telephone conversation said the contest was conducted well.

The footballer stated that he was looking forward to continued friendship with Bernard Okoth Imran who shall take up the late Ken Okoth's seat in parliament.

At the time of the call, IEBC had not announced the official results. It was however clear given the reactions from contestants that ODM's Imran Okoth had won the seat. 

Earlier, ODM party Secretary Edwin Sifuna at a press conference stated that their candidate had registered a resounding victory. 

Leading the Jubilee camp, Lang'ata MP Nixon Korir was quick to note that the party was delighted by the poll outcome. 

According to Korir, Mariga had managed to muscle a significant share of their opponents' support base. Korir further alluded to the poll being a test ahead of the 2022 general elections.


Here are the provisional results for the various polling stations. The tally is only provisional and numbers are subject to change.

The official results will be only announced by IEBC and will be availed here immediately when the declaration is made.

21:25pm (180/183 Stations reporting)

     ODM : Bernard Okoth 24,416

     ANC : Owalo 5,203

    Jubilee : Mariga 11,068

     Ford-K: Butichi 280

21:18pm (179/183 Stations reporting)

     ODM : Bernard Okoth 24301

      ANC : Owalo 5152

      Jubilee : Mariga 10986

       Ford-K: Butichi 279

20:20pm ( 164/183 Stations reporting)

     ODM : Bernard Okoth 22406

     ANC : Owalo 4621

    Jubilee : Mariga 9875

    Ford-K: Butichi 256

20:15pm (160/183 Stations reporting)

      ODM : Bernard Okoth 21686

      ANC : Owalo 4561

      Jubilee : Mariga 9685

      Ford-K: Butichi  252 

19:50pm Current Total tally (158/183 Stations reporting) 

           ODM : Bernard Okoth 21306  

          ANC : Owalo 4529   

          Jubilee : Mariga 9652   

          Ford-K: Butichi 248 


21:00pm NCC hall station 03

   Mariga -34




NCC polling station 

    Mariga -44




NCC polling station 02

   Mariga -37




20.00pm  Raila Odinga Centre (Stream 1)

     Imran - 174

     Mariga- 33

     Owalo - 22

19:45pm - Stream 6 Lindi Mosque

     Mariga 45

     Imran Okoth 119

     Owalo 32

     Butichi 4

19:40pm - Old Kibra Polling Station (Stream 10) results

    Imran ODM 138

    McDonald Mariga 89

     Owalo  21

19:30pm - Kwa DC (Stream 4) results. 

     Imran Okoth 71

     McDonald Mariga 6

     Eliud Owalo 66


5.13 pm: Mariga blocked from accessing a polling station. Chaos broke out at Ayany Primary School in Kibra after rowdy youth tried to block Jubilee candidate from accessing the polling station.

5.10 pm: Mudavadi decries Bribery: " Bribery must be contained during the campaign and election period"

5.01 pm: IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati arrives at Woodley Polling Stations. Assures aspirants and supporters that all is well. He refused to confirm the time he will leave the polling station.

5.00 pm:  All polling stations across the constituency closed. IEBC officials set to start counting ballots. The winner set to be announced before midnight.

4: 53 Kimilili MP Didmus Barasa roughed up in Kibra. Didmus faced the hostility moments after Dagoretti North MP Simba Arati arrived with his supporters minutes to the closure of the polling stations.

Voter bribery allegations and low turnout characterised exercise as polling stations closed.

Polling stations in Kibra closed at 5.00 pm.