Article Image

List of AG office holders since independence

Benard Ramoka
Outgoing AG professor Githu Muigai in a past event. His resignation has shocked the country. (Photo/

The resignation of Attorney General (AG) Professor Githu Muigai on Tuesday came as a surprise to Kenyans.

Muiga’s resignation as  government advisor for the last six and half  years was announced by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Githu Muigai who took over former AG Amos Wako was  a law scholar and considered  among the tough talking AG’s in the country’s history.

Muigai’s tough stand against NASA leader Raila Odinga’s swearing on January 30  brought him to the limelight. He  had warned Raila against the swearing in that he termed high treasonous and punishable by death.

The outgoing AG has represented the country and the government in major cases internationally. He was the ‘friend of the court’ in the election petition challenging President Uhuru Kenyatta’s election in 2013 and 2017.

Here is the list of people who have served as AG’s since 1963 when Kenya gained independence.

1. Githu Muigai (2011- Present- now resigned)

2. Amos Wako (1991-2011-longest serving AG)Mathew Guy Muli (1983-1991)

3. Joseph Kamere (1981-1983)James B Karugu (1980-1981)

4. Charles Mugane Njonjo (1963-1979)

President Kenyatta has nominated Courts of Appeal Judge Paul Kihara Kariuki  as Muigai’s replacement.

Be the first to get the latest Political News updates for free! WhatsApp the word "POLITICS" to 0717410719 Click here to send the message

Report Story