Article Image

World Cup’s famous numbers

Nancy Namulanda
Luzhniki Stadium will host a section of World Cup matches. [Photo/]

The 2018 edition the FIFA World Cup kicks on Thursday, in Russia. It will be the 21st edition of the world soccer bonanza with the first edition having been held in Uruguay in 1930.

Here are the most famous numbers about the World Cup.

0. No African team has ever won the World Cup.

1. Brazil is the only team to have participated in all the previous 20 editions of the world. The Samba Boys will take to the field in Russia as the only team to grace the world cup for the 21st time.

2. The World Cup was not held twice – in 1942 and 1946 due to World War II.

3. Edson Arantes do Nascimento, famously known as Pele is the only player in history to have won the World cup on three different occasions. Pele lifted the trophy with Brazil in 1958, 1962 and 1970.

4. Two teams have won the World Cup four times each. They are defending Champions Germany and Italy. Germany won in 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014 while Italy won in1934, 1938, 1982 and 2006.

5. Brazil is the only team to have won the World Cup five times. That was in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002.

6. Italy has reached the World Cup final on six different occasions and won the tournament four times. This year, the team will not be in Russia after failing to qualify.

7. Brazil has reached World Cup final on 7 different occasions and won the title five times.

8. Only eight teams have won the World Cup in history. They are Brazil, Italy, Germany, Uruguay, Argentina, Spain, France and England.


Would you like to receive news updates for free? WhatsApp the word NEWS to 0790870842

Report Story