It has emerged that six lawmakers from Meru County angrily walked out of a meeting that was to be presided over by Interior Cabinet Secretary Dr Fred Matiang'i.

Share news tips with us here at Hivisasa

It is alleged the six out of the total 11 MPs left the meeting for what they termed as "protocol hitch".

The protesting MPs led by Senator Mithika Linturi said they had been kept waiting for several hours without being briefed on when the said meeting was to start, which forced them to leave.

“We have been waiting here for three hours without any word on when the consultation is to start and decided to move on with our other programmes of the day,” Linturi said flanked by the other MPs as reported by the Standard.

These are the lawmakers who left the meeting before it could kick off: Rahim Dawood (North Imenti), Maoka Maore (Igembe North), Kathuri Murungi (Imenti South), John Paul Mwirigi (Igembe South) and Josephat Gichunge (Tigania East).

The meeting was held at the county commissioner’s residence with an agenda of ending the insecurity issues in the area.