Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya was on Monday elected Council of Governors chairperson.

Share news tips with us here at Hivisasa

Oparanya beat five other contestants to clinch the top seat taking over from his Turkana counterpart Josephat Nanok. He is serving Kakamega county for a second term and is eying the presidency in 2022.

Kisumu Governor Anyang' Nyong'o, his Kirinyaga counterpart Anne Waiguru, and three other county bosses were in the race to replace Turkana Governor Josphat Nanok.

The others were Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu) Salim Mvurya of Kwale County. Oparanya's development record has been a major highlight in the devolution success stories from the moment Kakamega host the fifth devolution conference.

Murang'a Governor Mwangi Wa Iria will now take over as the CoG Vice Chair from Kirinyaga Governor Ann Waiguru.