It is a constitutional requirement for a sitting president to have a deputy president, formerly known as vice president. 

The roles of deputy president as outlined in the Kenyan Constitution include helping the president with administrative roles, representing the president in international forums and filling the vacancy that may arise in case the sitting president dies, gets impeached or is convicted.

These are the individuals who once served as vice presidents and later became presidents.

1. Daniel arap Moi

Popularly known as "professor of politics" Moi become Kenya's second vice president after Jaramogi Oginga Odinga resigned as Kenya's vice president in 1966 following escalating ideological differences with Jomo Kenyatta.

Moi served as Kenya's vice president up to 1978  when Jomo Kenyatta died. In accordance with the Kenyan Constitution, he ascended to power becoming the first vice president to become president in the country.

After the general elections were held, Moi retained the seat and established one of the longest rules in Kenya that lasted for 24 years.

2. Mwai Kibaki

Mwai Kibaki served as a vice president during Moi's regime for ten years (1978-1988).

During the 2002 general election, he contested for the presidential seat against Uhuru Kenyatta who was running on a  KANU ticket, Simeon Nyachae of Ford People and James Orengo of Social Democratic Party.

He emerged victorious becoming Kenya's third president. His reign lasted for ten years (2002-2013).