Campaigns for the Embakasi South by-election has entered home-stretch as registered voters prepare to vote in their Member of Parliament (MP) on Friday.

Is there information that you would like Kenyans to know? Tell Hivisasa and we will share with the world. Click here to submit.

Candidates eyeing the parliamentary seat are expected to end their campaigns today.

Seven candidates are battling for the parliamentary seat that was declared vacant by the Supreme Court in 2018.

The candidates are; Irshad Sumra (ODM), Julius Mawathe (Wiper), Rameshchandra Gorasia (Democratic party of Kenya), Jefferson Kasingu (KANU), Alexander Mutisya (Maendeleo Chap Chap), Angelina Mwikali (Thirdway Alliance) and Jairus Musyoka (Independent).

On Tuesday, ODM Party leader Raila Odinga led final campaigns for Sumra, urging voters to come out in large numbers to vote.

The former Prime Minister urged Embakasi South voters not to let him down.

As candidates finalize their campaigns, the Friday by-election is no doubt a two-horse between Sumra and Mawathe.

The two political heavyweights have been rivals for years and arguably control massive support in Embakasi South.

Embakasi South is largely inhabited by Kamba community something Kiambu based political analyst Peter Ngure says could favor Mawathe.

“Wiper stands a higher chance of clinching the seat if Embakasi South voters decide to vote on tribal line,” he said in an interview on Wednesday.

The analyst noted that the famous handshake between President Uhuru Kenyatta and Raila could have a big influence on how Embakasi South voters will vote in the by-election.

On the other hand, Sumra also stands a higher chance of winning the by-election.The ODM candidate could win on grounds of the Orange party’s influence in Nairobi politics.

Raila’s Orange party largely dominates Nairobi city politics and this could work for Sumra.

Other candidates can also not be ruled out of the by-election contest.

Embakasi South is estimated to have 150,314 registered voters distributed in 221 polling stations.