Embakasi East MP Paul Ongili alias Babu Owino has been named the Member of Parliament of the Year. 

Do you have a lead on a newsworthy story? Share news tips with us here at Hivisasa!

The lawmaker on Friday took to social media to confirm the award. 

The legislator thanked the residents of his constituency for being a supportive pillar in his administration.

"I’m taking this opportunity to thank God and the people of Kenya for helping me win Member of Parliament of the year award bacause (sic) of our outstanding performance. God bless Kenyans," he posted.

The details of the award, however, remain unclear.

The lawmaker has been very vocal on matters of national interest, recently calling on President Uhuru Kenyatta to waive HELB debts for all graduates as well as grant amnesty to all expelled university students.

The win comes days after Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko revealed that he had been nominated for the Governor of the Year Award. 

Others listed for the award are Alfred Mutua (Machakos), John Lonyangapuo (West Pokot), Hassan Joho (Mombasa) and Kivutha Kibwana (Makueni).

''I have just been notified that I've been nominated for Governor of the year in the Mashujaa Awards 2019. Here is the link for other nominees and categories. Mnaweza click on the link mvotie your favourite nominees,'' said Sonko.

The results of the award are yet released.