The government has released a comprehensive list of areas in the country that have been badly affected by the ongoing torrential rains.

Is there a story unfolding in your community? Let Hivisasa know

In a post by the Government Spokesman Col (Rtd) Cyrus O. Oguna, 30 counties were listed.

The counties as listed on the Twitter handle are:

Lamu, Kwale, Mombasa, Kilifi, Tana River, Taita Taveta, Mandera, Wajir, Turkana, Garissa, Samburu, Isiolo, Marsabit, Makueni, Kitui, Machakos, Embu, Baringo, West Pokot, Elgeyo Marakwet, Kisumu, Homa Bay, Migori, Siaya, Kisii Trans Nzoia, Busia, Bungoma Meru, and, Tharaka Nithi.

The government assured that efforts were underway to ensure that those affected by the raging floods are accorded necessary assistance that they require.

It also said that it was keenly monitoring the situation in the country.

"As Government, we are providing the necessary relief assistance to help restore livelihoods of all those affected as we continue to monitor the situation," a tweet by the government spokesperson read.

The torrential rains not only destroyed property and livelihoods but also led to tens of deaths.

About two weeks ago, over 30 people lost their lives in West Pokot following a deadly landslide triggered by the rains.

In another update on Twitter, the Government Spokesman said that about 330 people had been adversely affected, 17,000 displaced and 132 people killed.

"Humanitarian situation:Approx 330 people adversely affected, 17,000 displaced,132 lost their lives, an undetermined number marooned/cut off.Over 11,000 livestock swept away. Undetermined acreage of farmlands submerged.Crops of unknown value damaged/destroyed, " the update read.