The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chief has shortlisted ten candidates for the post of the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and commission secretary.  

Share news tips with us here at Hivisasa

The position of the CEO became vacant after the removal of the former immediate CEO Ezra Chiloba.

Despite the chairman insisting that all is well in the electoral commission, the move has been reached to ensure transparency and accountability to the general public, considering the weight of the matter.

The shortlisted candidates are Khalid Billow¸ Elishiba Muthoni, Anne Kerubo, Christopher Kioko, Benjamin Kipchumba, Marjan Hussein, Humphrey Nakitari, Zephania Okeyo, Nancy Kariuki and Joel Mabonga. 

According to the commission the selection of the candidates was based on academic qualification, experienced and conduct of different applications for the post. The shortlisting came after IEBC announced the vacancy

The listed candidates are expected to present themselves for interviews at the IEBC offices between June 24 and June 26.Chiloba decided to resign after discrepancies emerged in the audit process. 

An attempt to retain his job backfired when he sought for legal action. The commission saw several commissioners resigning including Rosylin Akombe, Paul Kurgat, Margaret Mwachanya and Connie Maina, who acting at the Vice Chairman. 

Chebukati has, however, asked leaders and general public not to panic since operations are going on well at the IEBC. Marjan Hussein is acting as the CEO of IEBC.

“We have an acting CEO and commission secretary and all our programs are going on well,” he said.