Kisumu Governor Anyang' Nyong'o has elevated five sub counties into town status, in line with the powers bestowed on him by the constitution.

Is there information that you would like Kenyans to know? Tell Hivisasa and we will share with the world. Click here to submit.

In a gazette communication dated March 1, the county boss considered five constituencies, handing their popular former centers an urban center status.

The considered constituencies are Muhoroni, Seme, Kisumu West, Nyakatch and Nyando constituencies.

“In the exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 10(1) of the Urban Areas and Cities Act, I confer the status of a town to the areas within Kisumu County,” reads the gazette notice in part, as was seen by the Standard.

Consequently, Ahero (Nyando), Muhoroni in Muhoroni constituency, Katito (Nyakatch), Maseno (Kisumu West) and Kombewa (Seme) are the newest towns in Kisumu county.

Kisumu Liaison Officer Eddy Illah welcomed the move, terming it s blessing for the people living in and around the new towns in terms of economic gains.

"This move will unlock untapped economic fortunes of these areas and their environs,” Mr Illah posted on his Facebook account.

Residents of the towns also expressed their happiness.

“It is exciting to know that Ahero is now a fully-fledged town. We hope to see more development here,” said Jotham Ogutu, a hotelier in Ahero.