The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) on Tuesday said that it had cleared 23 candidates to vie in the Kibra parliamentary by-election. 

Is there information that you would like Kenyans to know? Tell Hivisasa and we will share with the world. Click here to submit.

The electoral commission noted that 16 candidates will run for the seat under different political parties while seven will vie for the seat as independent candidates. 

In a statement, the IEBC revealed that 30 candidates had registered to contest in the Kibra by-election. However, seven aspirants were not cleared as they either did not go for clearance or were disqualified. 

One notable candidate who was disqualified is Jubilee Party candidate MacDonald Mariga. 

Mariga's candidature was disallowed on grounds that his details were missing on the voters' register of 2017. 

However, the Jubilee Party has bemoaned his disqualification, vowing to appeal the same. 

Raila Odinga's ODM on Tuesday presented their candidate Imran Okoth with the party certificate. 

ODM and Jubilee were considered the favourites in the by-election, with the disqualification of Mariga from the race viewed as a relief for ODM. 

The Kibra parliamentary seat fell vacant after the death of former MP Ken Okoth.

The by-election is set to be held on November 7, 2019.