ODM is one of the popular political parties in the country. 

Do you have a lead on a newsworthy story? Share news tips with us here at Hivisasa!

The party which came into existence before the 2007 general elections has hosted and produced some of the most firebrand politicians this country has ever seen, among them Deputy President William Ruto, Leader of Majority in the National Assembly Aden Duale and Suba South Member of Parliament (MP) John Mbadi.

Currently, Mbadi holds the record of being the longest serving elected Member of Parliament under the Orange Party, in the current 12th Parliament.

Mbadi who doubles up as ODM's national chairman was first elected in 2007 as MP for the then Gwasi Constituency. He was reelected again in 2013. In 2017, the constituency was renamed Suba South. 

The change of name did not change Mbadi’s political fortunes as he was routinely reelected in 2017, and he is now serving his third straight term as MP under the Raila Odinga led part.

The only person who can merge Mbadi’s political longevity in the ODM party is his Suba North counterpart Millie Mabona Odhiambo.

In 2007, Odhiambo served as nominated MP before being elected in 2013 and 2017 respectively. Mbadi beats her hands down given the fact that he is in Parliament for the third term, courtesy of being elected while Millie Odhiambo has been nominated once, and elected twice.