Article Image

IEBC announces Makadara MP winner despite lost vote form

Zed Oscar

Makadara MP elect George Aladwa [PHOTO/]

Makadara constituency was a tough battleground for both Jubilee and NASA in the just concluded general elections.

Even though former Nairobi Mayor George Aladwa won the parliamentary seat by beating the incumbent Benson Mutura, the battle was not easy.

The ODM man won by a slim margin, garnering 41,874 votes against 39731 of the Jubilee man.

However, there was controversy as the results  did not include those of a single polling station, Baraka Primary School, whose form for the final declaration went missing.

Earlier, Aladwa's supporters had raised complaints over the delayed release of results because of the missing form.

Makadara constituency Returning Officer Moses Simiyu said the document had been misplaced and therefore announced the results after consulting with agents and top IEBC officials.

Report Story